2012 – The Alan Turing Year


A Centenary Celebration of the Life and Work of ALAN TURING. University of Cambridge, 18 June – 23 June, 2012: CiE 2012 is one of a series of special events, running throughout the Alan Turing Year, celebrating Turing\’s unique impact on mathematics, computing, computer science, informatics, morphogenesis, artificial intelligence, philosophy and the wider scientific world.



Alan Mathison Turing (June 23, 1912 – June 8,1954)

  • Turing is widely considered to be the father of Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence.
  • He was highly influential in the development of computer science, providing a formalisation of the concepts of „algorithm” and „computation” with the Turing machine, which played a significant role in the creation of the modern computer.
  • In 1945 he was a pioneer of electronic computer design. But Turing’s true goal was the scientific understanding of the mind, brought out in the drama and wit of the famous „Turing test” for machine intelligence and in his prophecy for the twenty-first century.
  • Alan Turing the British mathematician, logician and computer scientist who used all of these skills to help decrypt the Nazi codes during World War II, is now recognised as a hero.

Alan Turing was a British mathematician who made history. His breaking of the German U-boat Enigma cipher in World War II ensured Allied-American control of the Atlantic. But Turing’s vision went far beyond the desperate wartime struggle. Already in the 1930s he had defined the concept of the universal machine, which underpins the computer revolution.

The Turing Award

The Turing Award is widely known as the “Nobel Prize” of computing.  It is an annual award given since 1966 by the Association for Computing Machinery to: “an individual selected for contributions of a technical nature made to the computing community. The contributions should be of lasting and major technical importance to the computer field”.

The award receives finanacial support from both Intel and Google and includes a $250,000.00  monetary component.

Note: The 2011 Turing Award goes to Leslie G. Valiant, a British researcher who is currently  T. Jefferson Coolidge Professor of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics in the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences.


http://www.turingcentenary.eu/   &  http://www.cie2012.eu

– M. Vlada, http://www.unibuc.ro/prof/vlada_m/turing/



Vă rugăm să introduceți comentariul dvs.!
Introduceți aici numele dvs.